Mission Statement

The Committee on the Status of Women (CSW) of the Society for Music Theory promotes gender equity and feminist scholarship in areas related to music theory and serves as a repository of information about women and music. The CSW serves the Society for Music Theory in matters that are critical to all music theorists.


  • Chair: Jennifer Bain (Dalhouise University): 2015-2018
  • Recent Past Chair: Laurel Parsons: 2012-2014
  • Stefanie Acevedo (Phd Candidate, Yale University): Student Member, 2014-2016
  • Sara Bakker (Utah State University): 2015-2017
  • Anna Fulton (PhD Student, Eastman School of Music): Student Member, 2017-2019
  • Sigrun Heinzelmann (Universität Mozarteum Salzburg): 2016-2018
  • Edward D. Latham (Temple University): 2015-2017
  • Wendy Lee (Chinese University of Hong Kong): 2014-2016
  • Charity Lofthouse (Hobart College): 2015-2017
  • Carmel Raz (Columbia University): 2017-2019


  • Monitors and advocates for compliance with practices that promote gender equity, both within the Society and in the field of music theory in general.
  • Sponsors a special session at the Annual Meeting.
  • Holds a no-host luncheon at the Annual Meeting to discuss matters that relate to the mission of the CSW; all interested members of the SMT are invited to come to this.
  • Maintains a CSW Affiliates Facebook group web page to help members stay current on CSW activities and to get involved in related discussions and events; all interested members of the SMT are invited to join this Facebook group.
  • Maintains resources that relate to the mission of the CSW (see below).